Top of Tops: Most Awaited Movies of 2011

Another year has started and with that there’s a whole new line of movie up for release. Among this huge number of movies there are certain movies which I am eagerly waiting for. So here is a list of 10 movies which have got me fascinated the since the moment I’ve heard about them.

(Movies here listed are listed in the order of tentative release dates)

No One Killed Jessica: Am sure everyone is acquainted with this movie. One of the biggest things about the movie is that even after revolving around two women the movie is not a chic flick. Directed by Raj Kumar Gupta (Aamir fame) the movie looks like a promising Drama.

Release Date: 7th Jan

Dhobi Ghat: The fact that I’ve been following the development of this movie since past 1 year is enough for me to put this movie in this list. Its first promo blew me up. I guess this would be an Aamir Khan movie which won’t be like an Aamir Khan movie.

Release Date: 21st Jan

7 Khoon Maaf: It’s a Vishal Bhardwaj movie, need I say more. Other than that movie’s story line which includes Priyanka Chopra marrying 7 guys and murdering all of them makes for a “killer” concept. Plus there is Vishal Bhardwaj’s musical score. I guess I have given enough reasons to watch out for this movie.

Release Date: 18th Feb

Zindagi Milegi Na Dobara: A director who previously made “Luck By Chance”, a star cast which includes Hritik Roshan, Abhay Deol, Farhan Akhtar, Kalki Kolchein and a new Spanish hottie. Ok I know Katrina Kaif is there too but …… never mind. Touted to be a road trip the movie appears to be an interesting buddy movie.

Release Date: 27th May

RA.One: Shahrukh Khan doing an action movie after 5 long years. A superhero flick, the movie is said to have some great stunts. Plus being a big SRK fan it has to be in my list.

Tentative Release Date: Diwali weekend

Don2: A sequel to the Farhan Akhtar movie, the movie has new inclusion of Kunal Kapoor, Lara Dutta and Hritik Roshan in a special 20 min role which includes a one on one combat sequence with SRK.

Release Date: 23rd Dec

Reema Katgi’s untitled next: The movie is a cop thriller and stars Aamir Khan, Kareena Kapoor and Rani Mukherjee and like always Aamir has got a new look with moustache this time.

Tentative Release Date: Christmas Weekend

I Am: The movie has already received accolades in various film festivals. An episodic movie it deals with issues like Section 377, sperm donation, child abuse and Kashmiri pundits. With an ensemble cast which includes Juhi Chawla, Sanjay Suri, Nandita Das, Rahul Bose, Manisha Koirala this is one movie which will be going to something special.

Release Date: Unknown

Gangs of Wasseypur: Anurag Kashyap’s next epic movie based on Bihar coal mine workers. The movie will be made in 2 parts with 18 songs. The movie will star Manoj Bajpayee, Piyush Mishra, Shabana Azmi and more. (Info by @nautanki)

Release Date: Unknown

Kahaani: At first I wasn’t excited about this movie as it was said to be a remake of Kill Bill with Vidya Balan doing Uma Thurman’s role. But its real story made me interested in it which is about a 6 month pregnant lady searching for his lost husband in streets of Kolkata.

Release Date: Unknown

So you just heard about my expectations from 2011, tell me about yours. I would love to know them.

6 responses to “Top of Tops: Most Awaited Movies of 2011

  1. Dhobi Ghat, 7 KM, Gangs of Wasseypur for me.

    Also looking forward to Agent Vinod. Loved Shriram Raghavan’s Johnny Gaddar. Its been time since we had a real good kick ass entertainer.

  2. Nice entry.For me it is Dhobhi Ghat, 7 Khoon Maaf , and Zindagi Milegi Na Dobara ..besides Rockstar..Imtiaz Ali + A R Rahman..surely gonna be magical..and Delhi Belly too.

  3. For me too Dhobi Ghat and 7 Khoon Maaf.
    I just love the theme music of Dhobi Ghat.
    What looks to me is that Prateek Babbar will get more praise than Amir in DG.
    Fantastic List, looking forward for them.

Leave a Reply

